top of page

Featured Artist: Sam Feast

Artist: Sam Feast

Location: London

Instagram: @neck.bone

SFUK: Tell us a little about yourself and your background in photography.

SF: South coaster moved to the big city, work for national newspaper on the picture desk as a picture editor, always had an interest in image of all sorts. Been shooting analogue for last 10 years or so off and on.

SFUK: Why do you shoot film, have you always shot film & do you switch between digital and film?

SF: I shoot film as I feel its more authentic, there is more craft. I find digital a bit flat and just a bit to easy. I like older items like vinyl and furniture and collecting films and cameras fits with that aesthetic I guess.

SFUK: Who inspires you, any favourite people or places you frequently go to for inspiration?

SF: Any one who thinks out of the box really, there are so many photographers and artists to take inspiration from its hard to say just one or two, living in a city helps as there are lots of people, places and scenes around, weather is always an inspiration too, a sunny day and a blue sky make me want to go out and shoot, looking for weird shadows and scenes to put on to a blue sky background is my favourite thing to do.

SFUK: How would you describe your style of shooting?

SF: Minimalist and reductive. I take away all the extra stuff and boil it down to 4 or 5 elements. There is beauty in simplicity.

SFUK: If you could have any camera in the world, which would you choose and why?

SF: I don't really go all gear mad. I think there is too much focus on "the" camera or "the" lens, I don't think you really need it, a good photographer can take a good pic on any camera same as a good guitarist can play sound great on any guitar. You don't need a 6 grand German camera to be a photographer. Just learn the craft and buy one you can control all the settings on.

SFUK: Do you have any plans for your next project?

SF: Just more of the same really, its winter now so probably black and white more, the camera is always in the pocket so whatever I come across really.

Keep up to date with Sam's work on Instagram @neck.bone

Thank you.

If you'd like to share your work in the Artist Features space, contact ShootFilmUK by using the form at the bottom of the home page.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page