top of page

Featured Artist: Celeste Ortiz

Artist: Celeste Ortiz

Location: San Antonio, Chile

Instagram: @celesteoch

Featured Project: “April”

"This is a collection of self-portraits developed between 2013 and 2015. Since my interest with photography began I have been dedicated mostly to self portraiture. I use my own body and space, my room, to create these images, with film and instant photography as my medium. I’m interested in the concepts of an inner world and outer world through limits of body, conscious and nature."

Celeste Ortiz is a chilean photographer dedicated mostly to self portraiture.

Celeste has participated on group shows and screenings in Chile, Argentina, Austria, UK, Spain,

Poland, USA, Mexico, Romania, Belgium, France and Indonesia. Also, she had a solo exhibition in

2014 as part of art residency on Valparaiso (Chile). She has been featured and interviewed in a

large number of blogs, fanzines, online and printed magazines from around the world. On 2013

she was included on the "2nd Anthology of Young Photography Fotoespacio Chile 2012-2013".

Celeste has a diploma in digital photography from ARCOS Institute (Santiago) and she currently

lives in her hometown, San Antonio.

"I keep shooting film

because it feel honest"

SFUK: Tell us a little about yourself and your background in photography.

CO: My name is Celeste Ortiz. I’m a fine art photographer from San Antonio, a little city on the central coast of Chile. I first get interested on photography on 2008 playing around with a small digital camera and slowly became a huge part of my life and my main creative outlet.

SFUK: Why do you shoot film?

CO: I change from digital to film because I used to edit my digital images to look like film, just because I liked that vintage feel. When I realized that there were some film cameras at my disposition I knew I had to try “the real thing”. I don’t look for a vintage feel anymore, but I keep shooting film because it feel honest, it feels harder sometimes in a good way and I love everything about it.

SFUK: Who inspires you, any favourite people or places you frequently go to for inspiration?

CO: I get inspired by simple things, like the ray of sunlight sneaking through the curtain, the shape of a flower or the colour of a fruit. I’m not a fan of people and I don’t go to many places, so…

SFUK: How would you describe your style of shooting?

CO: Nervous, playful, disorganized, perfectionist (in order to get non-perfect results), late, bright and a bit naked.

SFUK: Do you have a favourite camera or film stock you feel compliments your work?

CO: Right now I care a lot about colours; I want bright, saturated colours. Kodak Portra seems to be what I want, but it’s too expensive to me…

SFUK: Do you have any plans for your next project?

CO: I always have plans on my mind, what is hard is to make them realty!

Keep up to date with Celeste's work at www.cargocollective.com/celesteortiz and be sure to follow her on Instagram @celesteoch

Thank you.

If you'd like to share your work in the Artist Features space, see the submission guidelines at the bottom of the Artist Features Page or contact ShootFilmUK by using the form at the bottom of the homepage.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page