top of page

Featured Artist: Kerensa Morris

Artist: Kerensa Morris

Location: Wales

Instagram: @kerensamorris

Kerensa Morris tells us about how she combines film photography with extreme digital manipulation to explore the subject of colour psychology in her series 'Altered Realities'. She explains:

StartFragmentI began my series, Altered Realities what feels like an eternity ago, whilst I was starting my second year of art college. I was 17 and had just gotten the film bug and spent all of my time (and money) shooting anything and everything. Then, I got incredibly frustrated looking at the images, knowing that there were hundreds of thousands of images just like the ones I had taken in the world already. What was the point in me photographing something if an almost identical photo someone else had taken already existed? I started just having a bit of a play around, scanning in my negatives and blindly pressing buttons and moving sliders on Photoshop- and when I altered the hues something just clicked. I found that pinks and magenta shifts worked the best and looked the most ‘realistic’ (pfft!) After a lot of time just making these surreal landscapes for sheer entertainment, I started to get into colour psychology and how colours could evoke certain emotions and perceptions. Reds and warm tones, for example, give the impression of an enclosed space- an interesting juxtaposition to the vast, empty hills I was shooting. Of course, there are a lot of (boring) people who don’t like my work at all, and others who are extremely enthusiastic about it. Any reaction is better than no reaction at all- and I’d rather be making work that makes people go “woah, what the hell is this?” than taking bland photos that no one bats an eyelid at. EndFragment

SFUK: Tell us a little about yourself and your background in photography.

KM: I'm Kerensa- a 20 year old photographer from Mid-Wales. I'm incapable of shooting anything except landscapes. I scan my film and then spend hours colour-shifting it on Photoshop, in an effort to alter the viewers' perception of the images with colour psychology. I picked up my first camera aged 6, and have hopefully improved since then. I have an Extended Diploma in Art & Design, and have done 2 years of BA (Hons) Photography before dramatically dropping out because i'm incredibly ill and am destined to spend eternity in my crumb-ridden bed.

SFUK: Why do you shoot film?

KM: There is such an in-explainable magic to film. I can never even come close to replicating an image shot with film. The colours, the grain, the patience you need, I couldn't live without it. I spend more on buying and developing film than groceries.

SFUK: Who inspires you, any favourite people or places you frequently go to for inspiration?

KM: Even though my work is incredibly abstract and surreal, i'm a sucker for the banal and traditional photographic style. William Eggleston, Saul Leiter, and Fred Herzog are the main three photographers I just worship. I go to the same spot countless times a year- the Elan Valley close to home is where a vast majority of my photos are taken.

SFUK: How would you describe your style of shooting?

KM: Not everyone's cup of tea.

SFUK: Do you have a favourite camera or film stock you feel compliments your work?

KM: I always always use my cheap and cheerful Pentax P30. I want it buried with me. I'll use any film I can afford- normally Poundland film or Kodak ColorPlus 200.

SFUK: Do you have any plans for your next project?

KM: I think I'll continue this project forever, it's become my style and I don't think i'm capable of taking a normal image anymore.

Keep up to date with Kerensa's work at www.kerensamorris.com and be sure to follow her on Instagram @kerensamorris

Thank you.

If you'd like to share your work in the Artist Features space, see the submission guidelines at the bottom of the Artist Features Page or contact ShootFilmUK by using the form at the bottom of the homepage.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page